Organic Gardening Magazine, Portrait of Andres Mejides in Homestead, FL

Top reasons my shoot with Organic Gardening Magazine test gardener, Andres Mejides, was one of my favorites of 2013 (in no particular order),

  1. As a nearly life-long vegetarian, I have really come to appreciate organically grown produce  (don’t panic, it’s organic)
  2. I’d rather be outdoors than in and jump at the chance to shoot outside
  3. Growing up in Kentucky, everyone I knew had some sort of garden and in the fourth grade (before discovering photography) I decided I wanted to be a horticulturist when I grew up
  4. Before setting up for the shoot, Andres gave my assistant and I a full tour of the farm which included some straight-off-the-tree product sampling  (yum!) and afterward we each got our own goodie bag filled with huge avocados and starfruit to take home
  5. I have a serious fondness of trees, open spaces and puffy clouds
  6. We had the perfect clouds for an outdoor shoot
  7. Andres’ choice in wardrobe…his tee-shirt = genius (couldn’t have asked for better styling)

And now, here are some of my favorites from the shoot…

organic-gardening-magazine-sonya-revell

Check out my picture of Andres on the bottom right side of the cover

andres-mejides-organic-gardening-sonya-revell

Starfruit Tree

andres-mejides-organic-gardening-sonya-revell

Micro-basil

andres-mejides-organic-gardening-sonya-revellandres-mejides-organic-gardening-sonya-revellandres-mejides-organic-gardening-sonya-revell

Leave a comment